Mikhail Kukushkin provided Kazakhstan with a place in the Davis Cup World Group

17.09.2017    Views: 4070
Source: KTF press-service
Today the National Tennis Center of Astana hosted the final Davis Cup match, where the Kazakhstan national team won an early victory over the current champion - the Argentine team and entered the Davis Cup World Group.
Mikhail Kukushkin, winning over the World's No. 28 Diego Schwartzman with a score of 6: 4, 6: 4, 7: 6 (2), brought the national team a victorious point. Thus, Kukushkin provided Kazakhstan with a place in the Davis Cup World Group. The final score is 3: 1.

 Mikhail Kukushkin, Kazakhstan's No.1 said:
 - When it comes to Davis Cup, we defend the honour of Kazakhstan. Today I saw happiness in the eyes of our viewers, and this is the biggest reward for us. Thanks to the President of the Kazakhstan Tennis Federation Mr. Bulat Utemuratov, thanks to who we have reached such a high level in this sport.

Recall, that on September 15, in the first match Kukushkin beat Guido Pella in four sets, 6:7, 7:6, 6:2, 6:4. In the next match, Dmitry Popko lost to Diego Schwarzman, 6: 4, 6:2, 6:2. On September 16, on the second day of our Davis Cup playoff match, Timur Khabibullin and Alexandr Nedovyesov outplayed the pair of Andres Molteni and Massimo Gonzalez, 5:7, 6:4, 7:5, 6:4.

Kazakhstan team captain Dias Doskarayev said:
- I congrat everyone on this grandiose victory. This is the Davis Cup, you can beat even the strongest opponents here. And the support of our fans helped us. I hope this victory will be the impetus for the development of tennis, and more and more people will begin to be interested in this sport.

In turn, the Argentine captain Daniel Orsanic noted the high level of the game of Mikhail Kukushkin and expressed his surprise to the fact that he has not yet entered the World's TOP-20.

Note, that Kazakhstan is taking part in the Davis Cup since 1995 entering the World Group in 2010 for the first time and  four times  reaching the tournament's quarterfinals (in 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015).

The Argentine team played in the Davis Cup since 1923 and is a four-time finalist (1981,1906,1908, 1911). In 2016, Argentina won the title of the Davis Cup champion 3:2 in the final.

For more information, please follow our social media accounts Instagram, Facebook and YouTube.

Federation sponsors and partners

Information partners